

ANDREW POTTER, CCB EXECUTIVE OFFICER/CLERK CLERK OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS 1600 PACIFIC HIGHWAY, ROOM 402, SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA 92101-2422 (619) 531-5600

RYAN SHARP ASSISTANT CLERK

ANN MOORE ASSISTANT CLERK

January 10, 2025

TO: All Mayors of Cities in San Diego County

FROM: Andrew Potter City Selection Committee Secretary

## CITY SELECTION COMMITTEE (CSC) SPECIAL MEETING MONDAY, JANUARY 13, 2025, AT 11 A.M. NOMINATIONS RECEIVED

On Monday, January 13, 2025, at 11 a.m. at the Four Points Sheraton Hotel, 8110 Aero Drive, San Diego, CA 92123, the City Selection Committee will convene a Special Meeting to appoint or nominate representatives to serve on the Air Pollution Control District (APCD) Governing Board and the San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO).

As a Mayor of a city within the County of San Diego, Government Code Section 50270 designates you to serve on the City Selection Committee (CSC). The CSC is responsible for the nomination, selection and appointment of representatives to various committees and commissions.

Below is a list of the nominations that have been received to date. Additional nominations may be made at the meeting.

# Air Pollution Control District (APCD) Governing Board

The City Selection Committee is being requested to make appointments to fill five regular member seats for four-year terms that will expire on March 9, 2025.

- Nominations Received for Supervisorial District 1, City Selection Subcommittee: Chula Vista, Imperial Beach, National City, and San Diego
  - $\circ$   $\,$  None received. Nominations may be accepted at the meeting.
- Nominations Received for Supervisorial District 2, City Selection Subcommittee: El Cajon, Poway, San Diego, and Santee
  - City of Santee Council Member Laura Koval
- Nominations Received for Supervisorial District 3, City Selection Subcommittee: Carlsbad, Coronado, Del Mar, Encinitas, San Diego, and Solana Beach
  - o City of Carlsbad Council Member Teresa Acosta

### SANDIEGOCOUNTY.GOV

- Nominations Received for Supervisorial District 4, City Selection Subcommittee: La Mesa, Lemon Grove, and San Diego
  - City of San Diego Council Member Jen Campbell
- Nominations Received for Supervisorial District 5, City Selection Subcommittee: Escondido, Oceanside, San Marcos, and Vista
  - City of Oceanside Mayor Esther Sanchez
  - City of Escondido Council Member Judy Fitzgerald

In accordance with the City Selection Committee Rules, the process for nomination and selection of APCD Board members shall proceed according to sections 5 and 6 of the rules, except that only those members of the City Selection Subcommittees listed above may nominate and vote upon the nominations for APCD Board members to be appointed from their respective supervisorial district.

Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)

The San Diego Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is requesting the Committee make new four-year appointments. The two expiring terms involve a regular seat currently belonging to Dane White with City of Escondido and the alternate seat currently belonging to John McCann with Chula Vista.

# 1. <u>East County Sub-Region Appointment (Regular Member)</u>

Regular Member from the East County Sub-Region (El Cajon, La Mesa, Lemon Grove and Santee) to the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) to fill the existing term that expires May 4, 2025, and make an appointment for a new four-year term beginning May 5, 2025 and expiring on May 4, 2029.

• City of Escondido Mayor Dane White

# 2. South County Sub-Region Appointment (Alternate Member)

Alternate Member from the South County Sub-Region (Chula Vista, Coronado, National City and Imperial Beach) to the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) for a new term to begin May 2, 2025, and expire May 1, 2027.

• No nominations received. Nominations may be made at the meeting.

Pursuant to the Rules and Regulations of the CSC, section D.2., each Mayor from the respective sub-regions can nominate an individual. The respective sub-region can also collectively submit one nomination to the Committee with the understanding that there has been some dialogue and consideration for the nomination. Additionally, the City Selection Committee retains discretion, including waiving its Rules and Regulations, in making the appointments to LAFCO.

If you have not already, please confirm your attendance by e-mailing Program Manager Teresa Zurita at teresa.zurita@sdcounty.ca.gov. A quorum of ten City Selection Committee members must be present in order to take action on these items.

If you are unable to attend the meeting, please provide a letter designating a Vice/Deputy Mayor or Council Member from your city to attend and vote at the meeting in your place (California Government Code Section 50271).

The meeting agenda, as well as supporting documents for the agenda items are available online at: <a href="https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/cob/sdcountybccs/cityselectioncommittee.html">www.sandiegocounty.gov/cob/sdcountybccs/cityselectioncommittee.html</a>.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me or Program Manager Teresa Zurita at 619-531-5434 or via e-mail teresa.zurita@sdcounty.ca.gov or andrew.potter@sdcounty.ca.gov.

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW POTTER City Selection Committee Secretary

cc: County Counsel Office of Economic Development and Government Affairs Air Pollution Control District San Diego County Local Agency Formation Commission

AP:TZ