

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND QUALITY ADVISORY BOARD MEETING

January 27, 2021 8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. Virtual Meeting

Members Present	Members Excused	Members Unexcused	Others Present
Joseph Allen Barbara Bradley Lee Cantrell Zohir Chowdhury Cliff Hanna Ruth Heifetz David Kellum Carlos McCray Doug Roff Toby Roy Byron Simpson Malcolm Vinje Mike Vizzier	Robert Logan	Stephen Zolezzi	Ana Becker, DEHQ Heather Buonomo, DEHQ Dao Doan, DEHQ Sande Facinelli, DEHQ John-Ross Glueck, DEHQ Amy Harbert, DEHQ Erin Jensen, DEHQ Rebecca Lafreniere, DEHQ Kameisha Nichols, DEHQ

I. CALL TO ORDER

The virtual meeting was called to order at 8:32 a.m., with thirteen members present.

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The December 16, 2020 meeting minutes were approved.

III. INTRODUCTIONS

Toby Roy, EHQAB Public Member Representative Board Member, Seat 7.

IV. PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no comments from the public.

V. DEHQ COMMUNITY NEEDS ASSESSMENT PRESENTATION

Kameisha Nichols, FHD Chief

VI. UPDATES FROM DEH EXECUTIVE OFFICE

New Board of Supervisors Elected Officials

Created sub committees for subjects of particular interest and focus. Revamping and streamlining legislative agenda to simplify and focus priorities for advocacy.

 Erin Jensen, DEHQ Administrative Analyst III gave an overview of the Board of Supervisor's new legislative log program

• 2020 EHQAB Annual Report

A briefing was given to all board offices regarding EHQAB. The EHAQB annual report was finalized and signed by Chair Malcolm Vinje and DEHQ transmitted to the Board of Supervisors.

COVID-19 Updates

- San Diego County remains in the purple tier. Outdoor dining and personal services can resume operations.
- Vaccinations are happening in a planned way.
- o Subscribe to updates at www.coronavirus-sd.com for the latest information/updates.

Organizational Changes

On December 9, 2020 the Board of Supervisors took action to approve the proposed retitling and organizational changes to Department of Environmental Health and Quality (DEHQ). Amy Harbert will be the Acting Director during the recruitment and Rebecca Lafreniere has been appointed division Director of Environmental Health. Linda Turkatte will be transitioning as the Deputy Director over Hazardous Materials Division and Community Health Division. The changes took effect on January 15, 2021. We are making incremental changes to reflect the department's new name on consumable items.

VII. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 9:32 a.m. Next meeting will be held Wednesday, February 24, 2021.