

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND QUALITY ADVISORY BOARD MEETING

March 24, 2021 8:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. Virtual Meeting

Members Present	Members Excused	Members Unexcused	Others Present
Joseph Allen	Doug Roff		Ana Becker, DEHQ
Lee Cantrell	Toby Roy		Barbara Bradley, Public
Zohir Chowdhury			Dori Budde, DEHQ
Cliff Hanna			Heather Buonomo, DEHQ
Ruth Heifetz			Sande Facinelli, DEHQ
David Kellum			John-Ross Glueck, DEHQ
Carlos McCray			Sarah Hagel, DEHQ
Michael Moulton			Amy Harbert, DEHQ
Lucero Sanchez			Erin Jensen, DEHQ
Byron Simpson			Traci Mitchell, DEHQ
Malcolm Vinje			Kameisha Nichols, DEHQ
Mike Vizzier			Steven Tamayo, DEHQ
Stephen Zolezzi			Linda Turkatte, DEHQ

I. CALL TO ORDER

The virtual meeting was called to order at 8:32 a.m., with thirteen members present.

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The February 24, 2021 meeting minutes were approved.

III. INTRODUCTIONS

Michael Moulton, EHQAB Public Safety Representative Board Member, Seat 8. Lucero Sanchez, EHQAB Public Member Representative Board Member, Seat 6.

IV. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Introduced Dori Budde, the new Chief of the Land and Water Quality division. Announced Retirements

- Sande Facinelli
- Linda Turkatte

V. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Barbara Bradley thanked the board for serving on the EHQAB.

VI. COST RECOVERY PROPOSAL

Linda Turkatte, DEHQ Deputy Director Steven Tamayo, DEHQ Finance Chief

The Board took action to send a letter to the Board of Supervisors to convey their support: for DEHQ's
cost recovery proposal, acknowledging the importance of swift plan review turnaround times for
industry and appreciation that DEHQ, just like private industry, continually looks at ways to streamline
operations, implement improvements, and apply cost savings to customers.

VII. UPDATES FROM DEH EXECUTIVE OFFICE

• Legislative Highlights

Updates were given by the division Chiefs.

• Board Letter Log

Board Letter Log was reviewed.

Vacancies

DEHQ staff have been brought back, filling positions with an 8% vacancy rate.

VIII. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 9:56 a.m. Next meeting will be held Wednesday, April 28, 2021.