Top Five Violations in the
Biotech/R&D Industry

By: Justin Martinez
EPIC+ Seminar 10/31/2023




Objectives

»Awareness of the most common violations
 Easily overlooked

 Misunderstood
 Difficult to track

»Provide a refresher on the requirements
« Summary and generalization

» Assist you in maintaining compliance
« Explanations
* Tips

Remember: Achieving compliance is different for every facility.




Definitions

Acronym | Meaning

EPIC+ Education, Process Improvements, Compliance for Environmental Risk Reduction
CUPA Certified Unified Program Agency

CERS California Environmental Reporting System

HMBP Hazardous Materials Business plan

EPA Environmental Protection Agency

HSC Health and Safety Code (CA)

CCR California Code of Regulations

MWMA Medical Waste Management Act (CA)

DTSC California Department of Toxic Substances Control
RCRA Resource Conservation and Recovery Act

UPFP Unified Program Facility Permit




Top Violations: #5 (A and B)

A. Chemical inventory incomplete or not submitted in CERS.

[HSC 25505(a)(1); 25507(a); 25508.1(a-b); 19 CCR 26]

B. Failed to report &/or update the required inventory
information for hazardous waste(s) generated at the
facility in CERS [SDCC 68.904(a)(2)]

Reportable Hazardous Materials (HMBP)

* Ensure that Hazardous Materials are updated in CERS, WITHIN
30 DAYS of a SUBSTANTIAL CHANGE to your facility inventory.

Reportable Hazardous Wastes

* Ensure all commonly generated Hazardous Waste streams are
reported in CERS.




Top Violations: #5 (A and B)

A.

B.

Chemical inventory incomplete or not submitted in CERS.

[HSC 25505(a)(1); 25507(a); 25508.1(a-b); 19 CCR 26]

Failed to report &/or update the required inventory
information for hazardous waste(s) generated at the
facility in CERS [SDCC 68.904(a)(2)]

Common Issues Observed:

* Hazardous materials/hazardous wastes stored on site not reported
in CERS

 Hazardous materials previously on the border of being non-
reportable (Example: Compressed gases with different reporting
requirements, such as CO,, Nitrogen, Argon, etc.)

* Periodically/rarely generated hazardous waste streams not
reported in CERS



Top Violations: #5 (A and B)

A. Chemical inventory incomplete or not submitted in CERS.

[HSC 25505(a)(1); 25507(a); 25508.1(a-b); 19 CCR 26]

B. Failed to report &/or update the required inventory
information for hazardous waste(s) generated at the

facility in CERS soccessosaren
Helpful tips to Maintain Compliance — HMBP
e Substantial Change is defined in HSC 25508.1

—A 100 percent or more increase in the quantity of a previously
disclosed material.

—Any handling of a previously undisclosed hazardous material
subject to the inventory requirements of this article.




Top Violations: #5 (A and B)

A.

B.

Chemical inventory incomplete or not submitted in CERS.

[HSC 25505(a)(1); 25507(a); 25508.1(a-b); 19 CCR 26]

Failed to report &/or update the required inventory

information for hazardous waste(s) generated at the
faC|||ty in CERS [SDCC 68.904(a)(2)]

Helpful Tips to Maintain Compliance — HW Reporting
e All routinely generated hazardous waste shall be reported in CERS.

— Even if the waste is generated every 2-3 years (Example: HW
generated from periodic maintenance)

— Check past three years of HW manifests

— Lab packs have special exceptions, but are required to be
reported

https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/dam/sdc/deh/hmd/pdf/HMG-4020%20(02-
2020)%20Lab%20Pack%20CERS%20Reporting%20Guidance.pdf



https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/dam/sdc/deh/hmd/pdf/HMG-4020%20(02-2020)%20Lab%20Pack%20CERS%20Reporting%20Guidance.pdf
https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/dam/sdc/deh/hmd/pdf/HMG-4020%20(02-2020)%20Lab%20Pack%20CERS%20Reporting%20Guidance.pdf

Top Violations: #4

Failed to Obtain &/Or Maintain an Active EPA ID Number.

[22 CCR 66262.12(a)]

Federal EPA ID Numbers (CAR, CAP, CA, CAD, CAT) are required for facilities
that generate:

* >100 Kg of RCRA HW per month; or
e > 1 Kg of RCRA acutely HW per month

State (CA) EPA ID Numbers (CAL, CAC, etc.) are required for facilities that
generate:

e <100 Kg of RCRA HW per month;
e <1 Kg of RCRA acutely HW per month
 ANY Non-RCRA HW

EPA ID prefix definition guide found on DTSC Website


https://dtsc.ca.gov/epa-id-numbers-fs/

Top Violations: #4

Failed to Obtain &/Or Maintain an Active EPA ID Number.

[22 CCR 66262.12(a)]

Common Issues observed:
* Failing to keep EPA ID Number active
* Incorrect EPA ID Number type (Federal vs. State) used by the facility




Top Violations: #4

Failed to Obtain &/Or Maintain an Active EPA ID Number.

[22 CCR 66262.12(a)]

Tips for Maintaining Compliance:

e Conduct the Electronic Verification Questionnaire (eVQ) ANNUALLY

— Reporting Cycle — July

— Guides found on DTSC Website
(https://evq.dtsc.ca.gov/Documents/user guide.pdf)

 If you are a Non-RCRA HW generator and manage any RCRA HW
streams:

— Review HW manifests each month, to ensure you are below the
threshold for a Federal EPA ID


https://evq.dtsc.ca.gov/Documents/user_guide.pdf

Top Violations: #3

Failed to properly label/date hazardous waste container &/or
tank [22 CCR 66262.34(f)]

Hazardous waste labels shall contain:
* The Words “HAZARDOUS WASTE”

 Name and address of the facility generating the HW
« HW accumulation start date (first drop of waste)

* Physical state of the HW (solid vs. liquid)
 Composition of the HW (What is the waste?)

» Hazard classification/properties (flammable, toxic, corrosive, reactive,
etc.)




Top Violations: #3

Failed to properly label/date hazardous waste container &/or
tank [22 CCR 66262.34(f)]

Ensure your labels have all information required by 22 CCR 66262.34(f). Keep in mind different
label formats.
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Top Violations: #3

Failed to properly label/date hazardous waste container &/or
tank [22 CCR 66262.34(f)]

Common Issues Observed:
* Incomplete information
* Information faded from sunlight exposure
* Incorrect information

* Missing labels




Top Violations: #3

Failed to properly label/date hazardous waste container &/or
tank [22 CCR 66262.34(f)]

Tips for Maintaining Compliance:
* Does the container have HW?
* Proper waste determination
* Check your labels periodically
* Isthe HW label completely filled out?

* You should be checking your HW containers
weekly, at minimum




Top Violations: #2

Initial &/or annual employee training not conducted &/or employee
training records not available or not maintained for 3 years

[HSC 25505(a)(4); 19 CCR 2659(b)]

Employee training must include, AT MINIMUM:
* Methods for safely handling hazardous materials
* Procedures for coordination with local emergency response organizations

» Use of emergency response equipment

* Address safety procedures in the event of a release or threatened release
of a hazardous material or hazardous waste for ALL employees.

v'Training program may take employee positions and/or job
responsibilities into consideration.




Top Violations: #2

Initial &/or annual employee training not conducted &/or employee
training records not available or not maintained for 3 years

[HSC 25505(a)(4); 19 CCR 2659(b)]

Common Issues Observed:
* Initial training not provided to new employees
* Annual training not provided to current employees
— Or training missed for the year
* 3 years of records are unavailable

* No training plan/schedule is in place, required by HMBP




Top Violations: #2

Initial &/or annual employee training not conducted &/or employee
training records not available or not maintained for 3 years

[HSC 25505(a)(4); 19 CCR 2659(b)]

Tips for Maintaining Compliance:
* ALL employees are trained in release/threatened release procedures.

Are staff commonly interacting with hazardous materials properly trained?
Are employees confident about their role if a release occurs? (i.e. evacuation
route, staging area, contact agencies, etc).

* Do employees know how to access/review the HMBP?

* |Is the HMBP accessible?

* Will a competent individual be present at all times (work/after hours)?
Do YOU have access to training records?

e LMS records typically maintained by HR
Is there a colleague/backup with access to training records?



Top Violations: #1

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required
due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

HMBP shall be submitted/certified ANNUALLY in CERS, which
includes:

*Business Information,
*Chemical Inventory with site map, and
*Emergency Response/Contingency Plan




Top Violations: #1

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required
due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

HMBP shall be submitted/certified ANNUALLY in CERS:

*19 CCR 2654(b) — Submitted/certified annually (using CERS “Recertify” function).

*Applicable when NO changes have occurred.

«27 CCR 15188(a),(b),(d), HSC 25508(a)(1) — Submitted every three years




Top Violations: #1

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required
due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

Common Issues Observed:

* CERS submittal is overdue
*Missing or incomplete element
e Confusion about due date (one year from date of previous COMPLETE submittal)

* “Not Accepted” submittal elements are not corrected by the facility (this is due
30 days after being reviewed by EHS)

e CERS Submittal has been “Certified,” instead of “Submitted” (three-year mark)




Top Violations: #1

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required
due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

Tips for Maintaining Compliance:

* Set a reminder to complete HMBP submittal one year from your
submittal date

e Certify annually, AND
* Submit every three years




Violations: #1

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required

due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

When is the next HMBP Due?
A. 12-22-22

B. 8-31-22

C. 6-17-22

D. None of the Above

e

Submitted

12/22/2021
S44AM

83172021
12:42PM

61772021
3-19PM

Facility

Accepted
12/27/2021

Accepted
9/3/2021

Accepted
1129/2021

Accepted
a/26/2020

Inventory Flans
Accepted

9/3/2021

Mot Accepted Accepted
1292021 1/29/2021
Mot Accepted Accepted
212272021 6/28/2020




Violations: #1 A=

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required
due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

When is the next HMBP Due? Submitted = Facility Inventory Plans

A. 12-22-22 12/2212021  Accepted

B 8-31-22 ga4AM 12/27/2021

c. (61722 QLA g3p0p  sasept

D. Noneofthe Above | Sen™ 755857 Toencer 22es00
&1712020 Accepted Not Accepted Accepted
4.25PM 8/26/2020 212272021 6/26/2020

6-17-21 is the most recent COMPLETE HMBP Submittal (Facility, Inventory, Plans); Based on the date the oldest HMBP
submittal element was accepted.



L
Violations: #1 A=

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required
due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

Should the Facility Submit or Certify in 20247

Submitted Facility Inventnry Flans
672023 Accepted
S.45AM 6/28/2023
" w217/2023  Certified Certified Certified
Certified — 2/17/2023 1247PM | 2/17/2023 | 2/17/2023 211712023
Gr30/2022 Accepted
L.36AM 8/31/2022
y 3/1/2022 Certified Certified Certified
Certified —3/1/2022 ' 3/1/2022 3/1/2022 3/1/2022

120222021 Accepted
S.44AM 12/2712021

831/2021 Accepted  Accepted
12:42PM 9/3/2021 9/3/2021

ly 61772021 Accepted Not Accepted Accepted
Submittal — 6/17/2021 3.19PM 7/29/2021 | 7/29/2021 7/29/2021

(=]
I
2




Violations: #1 A=

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required
due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

Answer — Make a Submittal on or before 2/17/ 2024

Submitted Facility,r |I'I‘|.|"E[‘ItDF_I,' ‘ Plans
6/7/2023 Accepted
S45AM 6/28/2023
™ > 2017/2023 Certified Certified Certified
Certified — 2/17/2023 1Z4TPM | 217/2023 @ 2/17/2023 2/17/2023
Gr302022 Accepted
7:36AM 8/31/2022
y 3/1/2022 Certified Certified Certified
Certified — 3/1/2022 J49AM 3/1/2022 3/1/2022 3/1/2022
120222021 Accepted
S:44AM 12/2712021
831712021 Accepted  Accepted
12:42PM 9/3/2021 9/3/2021
y 6172021 Accepted  Not Accepted Accepted
Submittal — 6/17/2021 319 7/29/2021 | 7/29/2021 7/29/2021




Violations: #1

HMBP not certified as complete and accurate in CERS by the required
due date. [HSC 25508.2, 19 CCR 2654(b)]

Tip for Avoiding a headache:

* Re-submit every year even if no changes occur...

*Note: Submittals can count as your recertification but not the other way around



Violations: Honorable Mention
Unified Program Facility Permit Not Obtained &/Or Maintained

(SDCC 68.905, 68.906, 68.907)

Common Issues Observed

* Operating within ANY CUPA programs (and MW program) for more than
30 days, without a UPFP

° HW SEP County of San Biego 2023

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND QUALITY
UNIFIED PROGRAM FACILITY PERMIT

® | | IVI B P P.0. BOX 129261, SAN DIEGO, CA 92112-9261/ (858) 505-6661 / (800) 253-9933 / FAX (858) 999-8920

www.sdcdehq.org

Owner/Operator Name:
® U ST Facility Name:

Facility Located at:

Mailing Address

* APSA

Record Number: _
* CalARP

e MW (Non-CUPA) N Permitvalid: 10112022 0 91302623

RENEWAL IS REQUIRED BEFORE EXPIRATION DATE

Unified Program Facility Permit is required due to the following Program elements:

* Facility stores/handles Hazardous Materials in reportable quantities and is subject to Hazardous
Materials Business Plan requirements.

* Facility generates Hazardous Waste.

* Allowing UPFP t '
OW I n g O eX p I re This information is taken from the California Environmental Reporting System (CERS), unless discrepancies

were observed during an inspection.

e



Violations: Honorable Mention
Unified Program Facility Permit Not Obtained &/Or Maintained

(SDCC 68.905, 68.906, 68.907)

Tips for Maintaining Compliance

. If you find you are or will be subject to a CUPA Program, update:

. Business information element in CERS. Change program
from “No” to “Yes”

*  Chemical Inventory (to include applicable Hazardous
Material/Waste)

*  UPFPis required to be renewed annually
*  Check the due date listed ON YOUR PERMIT

° Ensure the permit balance is PAID IN FULL (Fees are subject to
change annually)

. https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/sdc/deh
/hazmat/hmd permits.html

. FY23-24 Approved Fees.pdf (sandiegocounty.gov)

Facilrty Irf it

Business Activities (&

Ready to Submit with warnings Edit

[E] Business Owner/Operator Identification @ Ready to Submit | _Edit

© Discard Draft Submittal [ M tate-R d Documents

4 Add Comment To Regulator

Unified Program Local Reporting Requirements for San Diego County Department of Environmental Health and Quality

+ Hazardous Waste Reporting: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required by local ordinance to report all hazardous waste(s), including wastes that are less
than 55 gallons, 500 pounds, and for waste compressed gases less than 200 cubic feet. To comply with the law report all hazardous waste generated in the Hazardous

Materials Inventory Submittal Element (San Diego County Code §68.904(a)(2) and §68.905)

Medical Waste Reporting: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required by Iocal ordinance to report all medical waste(s), including wastes that are less than

55 gallons and 500 pounds. To comply with the law report all medical waste generated in the Hazardous Materials Inventory Submittal element (San Diego County

Code §68.904(a)(2), §68.905, and §65.1202).

Toxic Gas Reporting: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required to report, as a hazardous material inventory any quantity of toxic gas with a TLV value of

less than or equal to 10 ppm in the Hazardous Materials Inventory Submittal Element (San Diego County Code §68.1113).

Carcinogens and Reproductive Toxins: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required to annually report quantities of Proposition 65 carcinogens and

reproductive toxins that are handled/stored below 55 gallons, 500 pounds, or 200 cubic feet (compressed gas). See

http://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/dam/sdc/deh/hmd/pdf/hm-9243-multiple-pages. pdf (San Diego County Code §68.1113).

Photographic Silver Waste: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required to report onsite photographic waste treatment/silver recovery annually (San Diego
County Code §65.107(k)(14) and §68.000.5).

Site |dentification

—Hazardous Materials

Does your facility have on site (for any purpose) at any one time, hazardous materials at or above 55 gallons for liquids, 500 pounds for solids, or 200
cubic feet for compressed gases (include liquids in ASTs and USTs); or is regulated under more restrictive local inventory reporting requirements (shown
below if present); or the applicable Federal threshold quantity for an extremely hazardous substance specified in 40 CFR Part 355, Appendix A or B; or
handle radiological materials in quantities for which an emergency plan is required pursuant to 10 CFR Parts 30, 40 or 70? &

Unified Program Local Reporting Requirements for San Diego County Department of Environmental Health and Quality

* Hazardous Waste Reporting: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required by local ordinance to report all hazardous waste(s),
including wastes that are less than 55 gallons, 500 pounds, and for waste compressed gases less than 200 cubic feet. To comply with the law

report all hazardous waste generated in the Hazardous Materials Inventory Submittal Element (San Diego County Code §68.904(a)(2) and

§68.905).

Medical Waste Reporting: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required by local ordinance to report all medical waste(s), including

wastes that are less than 55 gallons and 500 pounds. To comply with the law report all medical waste generated in the Hazardous Materials

Inventory Submittal element (San Diego County Code §68.904(a)(2), §68.905, and §65.1202).

Toxic Gas Reporting: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required to report, as a hazardous material inventory any quantity of toxic

gas with a TLV value of less than or equal to 10 ppm in the Hazardous Materials Inventory Submittal Element (San Diego County Code

§68.1113).

Photographic Silver Waste: Regulated facilities in this jurisdiction are required to report onsite photographic waste treatment/silver

recovery annually (San Diego County Code §65.107(k)(14) and §68.909.5).

—Underground Storage Tank(s) (UST)

Does your facility own or operate underground storage tanks? '«

—Hazardous Waste

Does your Facility...

Does your facility generate Hazardous Waste?

® No
If yes, an EPA Identification Number (EPA D) is required.



https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/sdc/deh/hazmat/hmd_permits.html
https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/sdc/deh/hazmat/hmd_permits.html
https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/dam/sdc/deh/doing_business/pdf/FY23-24%20Approved%20Fees.pdf

Questions?
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