# **Adoption Assistance Program Benefits after Age 18**

(Revised 09/08/23)

Forms
Introduction
Policy
Procedure

AAP Benefits after Age 18

#### **Forms**

The following forms are referenced in this policy:

•	02-54	AAP Benefits Continuation Request – Past Age 18
•	02-54sp	AAP Benefits Continuation Request – Past Age 18 (Spanish)
•	02-55	AAP Extension Past Age 18 Request - Mental Health Provider
•	02-56	AAP Extension Past Age 18 Request - School
•	02-57	AAP Extension Past Age 18 Request - Medical
•	02-58	AAP Extension Past Age 18 Request - Parents
•	02-58sp	AAP Extension Past Age 18 Request – Parents (Spanish)
•	02-59	AAP Extension Past Age 18 Request - Physical/Occupational/Speech
		Therapy
•	AAP 2	Payment Instructions Adoption Assistance Program
•	<u>AAP 6</u>	AAP Negotiated Benefit Amount and Approval
•	AD 4320	Adoption Assistance Program Agreement

#### Introduction

According to the California Department of Social Services Website:

"Federal subsidies were created by Congress (through Public Law 96-272 - the Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980) to encourage the adoption of special needs children and remove the financial disincentives for families to adopt. Recognizing that adoptive parents often experience financial difficulty meeting the special needs of children who formerly were placed in California's foster care system, the State Legislature created the Adoption Assistance Program (AAP). In creating the program, the Legislature intended to benefit children in foster care by providing the security and stability of a permanent home through adoption. Children may receive a federally funded subsidy under Title IV-E or a statefunded subsidy per state guidelines."

AAP benefits are generally given to adopted children through the age of 18; however, there are circumstances in which youth are eligible for AAP benefits until 21 years of age.

AAP benefits are utilized to help children and youth achieve their full potential and develop lifelong relationships. (Set <u>Value 3</u>)

### **Policy**

When a youth receiving AAP benefits turns 18, they may be eligible to extend AAP benefits until 21 years of age. The AAP SW is responsible for helping the family navigate this process to determine eligibility.

### **Procedure**

The following steps will be completed when a youth receiving AAP benefits is nearing their 18<sup>th</sup> birthday:

Step	Who	Action
1	AAP Services Clerk	3 months prior to 18-year birthday, send letter that AAP will be terminating at 18, with instructions to contact SW if youth wants to explore an extension.  NOTE: A NOA will automatically go out from eligibility at the beginning of the month when the child turns 18. If no reassessment is approved, the AAP case will end.
2	AAP Family or Youth	Does family/youth request continued AAP?  If yes, go to Step 3.  If no, STOP.
3	AAP SW	<ul> <li>Send packet for family to fill out to qualify for an extension.</li> <li>The packet includes the following forms:         <ul> <li>AAP Extension Past Age 18 Request -</li></ul></li></ul>

## Procedure (cont.)

Step	Who	Action
4	AAP SW	If the request is denied:
		<ul> <li>Call the family to inform them of the denial</li> <li>Keep a copy in the AAP case file</li> </ul>
		If the request is approved, send the family the following forms:
		<ul><li>AD 4320</li><li>AAP 6 (only if renegotiating the amount).</li></ul>
5	AAP SW	When the AD 4320 is returned, the AAP 2 is sent to eligibility with the benefit extension box checked

**NOTE:** The family has to request the extension prior to the end of the month that the child turns 18. The youth will not be eligible if the request is made after the month the child turns 18.

The youth does not sign or consent to AAP after the age of 18 and the payments continue to be sent to the adoptive parent(s).

# AAP Benefits after Age 18

Once it is determined that the child will continue to receive AAP benefits past age 18, the AAP case is handled as all other AAP cases are handled. This table describes the AAP staff responsibilities:

Step	Who	Action
1	AAP SW	Send an AAP 3 to the family 90 days prior to the two year reassessment.
2	AAP SW	Reassess the AAP case after two years.  NOTE: No further reassessment after the two years will
		be needed as the child will be 20 years old at that point.
3	AAP HSS	Send a Notice Of Action to the parent(s) at the beginning of the month in which the youth turns 21 years old, to let them know that AAP will terminate at the end of that month.