#### **Motor Vehicle Licenses**

(Revised 02/02/18)

Forms
California Vehicle Code
HHSA Policy
Volvo Keys to Success Scholarships
Alignment with SET

#### **Forms**

The following forms are referenced in this file:

•	04-10	Volvo Scholarship Recommendation Letter From Other Adult
•	04-11	Volvo Scholarship Recommendation Letter From Care Provider
•	04-12	Volvo Keys To Success Scholarship Application

# California vehicle code (VC)

Any child applying for a driver's license must have the DMV application signed and verified by their father *and* mother, if both father and mother are living and have custody, or:

- if only one parent is living or has custody, the application shall be signed and verified by that parent.
- if neither parent is living or has custody, the application shall be signed and verified by the guardian.
- if there is no guardian, the application should be signed by a person having custody of the minor.

If a minor is a dependent or ward of the court, California law also allows the minor's application for a driver's license to be signed and verified by the person with whom the minor resides if that person is a grandparent, sibling over the age of 18, aunt, uncle, resource parent, or foster parent. Any of these persons who signs a child's application for a driver's license can be held liable for any damage or injury arising from the child's operation of a vehicle (VC 17701).

If a foster child is age 15 1/2, there is no additional cost to the caregiver to add the foster child to their policy. Once the foster child turns 16, the caregiver would be required to add the foster child to their insurance policy if the foster child is going to drive their vehicle. It does not matter whether the 16 year old is a licensed driver or just learning to drive.

The Vehicle Code allows a probation officer or child protective services social worker to sign and verify a dependent child's license application without liability if the minor files proof of financial liability.

#### **HHSA** policy

AN HHSA EMPLOYEE MAY NOT SIGN A CHILD'S APPLICATION FOR A DRIVER'S LICENSE.

If a resource parent provides behind-the-wheel training to their foster child, they must have automobile insurance coverage.

# Volvo Keys to Success Scholarships

Volvo has provided funding for the Volvo Keys to Success Scholarship Program for San Diego's foster youth. These scholarships will assist foster youth in obtaining both Driver's Education and Driver's Training. Driver's Education and Driver's Training will be provided by the AAAffordable Driving school which agreed to partner with the County for this program specifically.

#### **Eligibility Requirements**

The youth must:

- be 16-24 years old
- be a DEPENDENT of San Diego Juvenile Court (Probation youth are not eligible)
- be Independent Living Skills (ILS) eligible
- have passing grades in school.

#### Youth 18 years and older

Youth who are 18 and older will be provided with:

- 30 hours of Driver's Education, followed by
- six hours of Driver's Training.

The first five hours of the Driver's Training will be:

- behind-the-wheel instruction
- the last hour will be used at the DMV for the actual driving test.

AAAffordable Driving School will provide:

- the vehicle and
- vehicle insurance for the behind-the-wheel training
- the youth must secure their own insurance thereafter to drive.

When applying for the Driver's license at the DMV, youth will not have to have an adult signature on the DL 44 form (driver's application). The youth must also be using an insured vehicle when practice driving. This vehicle could be the resource family's or a family friend's but the owner of the vehicle is encouraged to check with their insurance agent about adding the youth to the insurance policy of the vehicle.

## Youth 17 years of age or younger

Youth who are 17 or younger will be provided with:

- 30 hours of Driver's Education, followed by
- six hours of Driver's Training. All six hours of Driver's Training will be behind-thewheel.

To apply for a license, youth who are under 18 must have:

- completed Driver's Education,
- Driver's Training, and
- a total of 50 additional hours of behind-the-wheel practice, 10 of which must be at night.

# Volvo Keys to Success Scholarships (cont.)

Youth can get this extra behind-the-wheel training from:

- resource family members,
- other family members, if approved by the SW, mentors, or
- other volunteers as long as those individuals use their own automobile and the automobile is insured.

All caregivers with youth under 18 who wish to apply or participate in this program should contact their vehicle insurance companies to inquire about coverage on a youth.

When applying for the driver's license at the DMV, the youth will need to have a parent or guardian sign the DL 44 form. This person will be accepting liability for a youth, which means that they will be financially responsible for the youth if there is an accident. Evidence of financial responsibility must be carried at all times in the vehicle, which is documented by the insurance coverage carried on the vehicle. The owner of the vehicle that is being used by the youth is encouraged to contact their insurance agent about adding the youth to the insurance policy of the vehicle.

## **How To Apply**

Applications (04-12, 04-11, and 04-10) are located in the Forms Repository or can be obtained from ILS staff. The five-page application requires the youth to complete:

- the application which requires the signature of the case carrying SW and PSS, if the youth has one,
- an essay answering why the youth is applying and how they will benefit from the scholarship, and
- two form letters of recommendation from adults who are involved in the youth's life.

There are a limited number of scholarships available and they will be awarded on a first-come, first-serve basis for those youth who meet the eligibility requirements.

**NOTE:** SCIAP or Something Special fund may able be available for driver's education and driver's training provided the foster youth meets the eligibility requirements for either program. Something Special is a program offered through Promises 2 Kids to assist foster youth with obtaining extracurricular items. Specialized Care Incentives and Assistance Program (SCIAP) funding requirements can be found in the PM and the Policy Analyst responsible for this file should be consulted regarding acceptable costs of this training.

#### **Alignment with SET**

This policy supports SET Value 3 by helping youth fulfill their full potential.