VALLE DE ORO COMMUNITY PLANNING GROUP MINUTES OF THE MEETING

Tuesday, December 3, 2024, 7:00 p.m. Rancho San Diego Library 11555 Via Rancho San Diego, El Cajon, CA 92019

Chair Oday Yousif called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m.

A. Roll Call

Seat	Member	Vote
1	Charles Kossman	Р
2	Kristin Haukom	Α
3	Danielle Weizman	Р
4	Jay Steiger	Р
5	Michael Herron	Р
6	Allen Hilantu	Р
7	Karibia Baillargeon	Р
8	Daniel Conway	Α

Seat	Member	Vote
9	Allison Henderson	Р
10	Michelle Kister	Р
11	Cody Charfauros	Α
12	Kathleen Hedberg	Α
13	Vacant	-
14	Mason Arabo	Р
15	Oday Yousif	Р

B. Approval of October 1, 2024, Regular Meeting Minutes

Motion by Steiger, second by Weizman, to approve the minutes. Motion passes.

Seat	Member	Vote
1	Charles Kossman	Υ
2	Kristin Haukom	Α
3	Danielle Weizman	Υ
4	Jay Steiger	Υ
5	Michael Herron	Υ
6	Allen Hilantu	Υ
7	Karibia Baillargeon	Υ
8	Daniel Conway	Α

Seat	Member	Vote
9	Allison Henderson	Υ
10	Michelle Kister	AB
11	Cody Charfauros	Α
12	Kathleen Hedberg	Α
13	Vacant	-
14	Mason Arabo	Υ
15	Oday Yousif	Υ

C. <u>Public Communication</u>

None.

D. Consent Items

None.

E. <u>Information Items</u>

1. County of San Diego Annual Road Resurfacing Program (Yousif). Yousif presented on County plan for resurfacing roadways. Delayed and still on Fiscal Year 2021-2022. Kister to email County regarding road sign maintenance.

F. Action Items

1. PDS2024-VAR-24-086: Setback Variance. CPG Lead: Yousif. Applicant/Representative: Boushra Salem. County Staff: Eddie Scott.

Action: Motion by Weizman, seconded by Henderson, to recommend approval of the variance for the front yard only and not the side yard setback. Motion passes.

Seat	Member	Vote
1	Charles Kossman	Υ
2	Kristin Haukom	Α
3	Danielle Weizman	Υ
4	Jay Steiger	Υ
5	Michael Herron	Υ
6	Allen Hilantu	Υ
7	Karibia Baillargeon	Υ
8	Daniel Conway	Α

Seat	Member	Vote
9	Allison Henderson	Υ
10	Michelle Kister	AB
11	Cody Charfauros	Α
12	Kathleen Hedberg	Α
13	Vacant	-
14	Mason Arabo	Υ
15	Oday Yousif	Υ

2. Election of 2025 VDO CPG Officers. CPG Lead: Yousif.

Action: Motion by Weizman, seconded by Kister, to re-elect Yousif, Steiger, and Weizman to the roles of chair, vice chair, and secretary, respectively. Motion passes.

Seat	Member	Vote
1	Charles Kossman	Υ
2	Kristin Haukom	Α
3	Danielle Weizman	Υ
4	Jay Steiger	Υ
5	Michael Herron	Υ
6	Allen Hilantu	Υ
7	Karibia Baillargeon	Υ
8	Daniel Conway	Α

Seat	Member	Vote
9	Allison Henderson	Υ
10	Michelle Kister	Υ
11	Cody Charfauros	Α
12	Kathleen Hedberg	Α
13	Vacant	-
14	Mason Arabo	Υ
15	Oday Yousif	Υ

G. Group Administration and Business

- 1. Casa de Oro Alliance: VDO CPG Liaison (Herron): Herron will be stepping away from VDO CPG to focus on new role with Casa de Oro Alliance. Someone will need to take on this role.
- 2. Cottonwood Sand Mine (Henderson): No update.
- 3. Fire Safe Council (Hedberg): Absent.
- **4. Grossmont-Mt. Helix Improvement Association: VDO CPG Liaison (Steiger):** Walk to the top of Mt. Helix on Saturday, January 4. Encourage joining GMIA. Mt. Helix Park Association will host a Christmas party. Steiger to attend on behalf of GMIA and VDO CPG.
- 5. Ivanhoe Ranch (Baillargeon): Absent.
- **6. Local Streets Subcommittee (Kister):** Update on speed and traffic concerns along Jamacha Road, with two deaths recently.
- **7. Parklands Dedication Ordinance (Weizman):** Will be scheduling subcommittee meeting to provide recommendation at next regular meeting for annual priorities.
- **8. Slope Instability Subcommittee (Weizman):** Update on recent subcommittee meetings and plan for next regular meeting to bring a letter for vote. Yousif gave direction not to have additional signatories.
- 9. Standing Rules Subcommittee (Yousif): No update.
- 10. Administrative & Other Business (Yousif): Updates on:
 - Next meeting will be January 7 not January 3.
 - Three vacancies come January 6, 2025. Two vacancies expected to be filled, leaving one remaining.
 - Alerts regarding next meeting topics.

Next Scheduled Meeting – January 7, 2025.

H. Adjournment

Yousif adjourned the meeting at 8:36 pm.