

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO

Independent Redistricting Commission

MEETING MINUTES

COMMISSIONERS

David Bame, Chair
Amy Caterina, Co-Vice Chair
Rosette Garcia, Co-Vice Chair
Colleen Brown
Chris Chen
Sonia Diaz
Elidia Dostal
Barbara Hansen
Kenneth Inman
Kristina Kruglyak
Arvid Larson
Fernandez Ponds
John Russ
Ramesses Surban

SPECIAL MEETING Monday, February 27, 2023, 5:30 PM

1. Called to Order at 5:31 p.m. (Virtual meeting)

2. Roll Call

PRESENT: Commissioners David Bame, Amy Caterina, Colleen Brown, Chris Chen, Carmen-Rosette Garcia, Barbara Hansen, Kenneth Inman, Kristina Kruglyak, Arvid Larson, Fernandez Ponds, Ramesses Surban; and Andrew Potter, Clerk.

ABSENT: Commissioners Sonia Diaz, Elidia Dostal, John Russ

(Note for the record: Pursuant to AB 361, signed into law on September 16, 2021 by California Governor Gavin Newsom as urgency legislation, effective immediately, and the May 26, 2022 Resolution of the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission Authorizing Continuance of Teleconferenced Public Meetings Pursuant to Government Code § 54953(e)(1)(C), members of the Independent Redistricting Commission attended the meeting via teleconference and participated in the meeting to the same extent as if they were present.)

3. Discussion and Possible Approval of Resolution Authorizing Continuance of Teleconferenced Public Meetings

ACTION:

ON MOTION of Commissioner Hansen, seconded by Commissioner Garcia, the Commission approved the "Resolution of the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission Authorizing Hybrid and Fully Remote Teleconferenced Public Meetings Pursuant to Government Code Section 54953," as included with the agenda materials.

AYES: Bame, Brown, Caterina, Garcia, Hansen, Inman, Kruglyak, Larson, Ponds

ABSTAIN: Chen

NOT PRESENT: Surban

ABSENT: Diaz, Dostal, Russ

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES – FEBRUARY 27, 2023

4. Approval of Minutes from the November 7, 2022 Special Meeting

ACTION:

ON MOTION of Commissioner Larson, seconded by Commissioner Inman, the Commission approved the minutes from the November 7, 2022 Special Meeting.

AYES: Bame, Brown, Caterina, Chen, Garcia, Hansen, Inman, Larson, Ponds

ABSTAIN: Kruglyak

NOT PRESENT: Surban

ABSENT: Diaz, Dostal, Russ

5. Update on Changes to the Brown Act, Remote Participation at Meetings and Upcoming End of the State of California's Emergency COVID-19 Declaration

The Commission received an update on the changes to the Brown Act regarding remote participation at meetings.

6. Update on the Budget for Commission Activities

The Commission received an update on the budget for Commission activities as presented in the agenda packet.

The following individual spoke:

• Pamela Hammond

7. Review of Lessons Learned Activities, including December 14, 2022 meeting with the California Citizens Redistricting Commission

Commissioner Kruglyak, Co-Vice Chair Garcia, and Commissioner Inman provided an update on the Lessons Learned presentation provided to the California Citizens Redistricting Commission on December 14, 2022.

8. Recess to Closed Session

The following individual spoke:

• Pamela Hammond

The Commission recessed to Closed Session at 6:23 p.m. with the following Commissioners present during Closed Session: Bame, Brown, Caterina, Chen, Garcia, Hansen, Inman, Kruglyak, Larson, Ponds, Surban

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES – FEBRUARY 27, 2023

A. Conference with Legal Counsel – Existing Litigation

(Paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) of Section 54956.9) Chaldean Coalition v. County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission; San Diego Superior Court, Case No. 37-2022-00008447-CU-WM-CTL

9. Reconvene in Open Session

The Clerk of the Commission reported the following actions: There were no reportable actions.

10. Adjournment

There being no further business, the Commission adjourned at 7:57 p.m.

Pursuant to Article III, Section 6 of the *Bylaws and Operating Procedures of the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission*, staff identified that there was one (1) member of the public present during the meeting.

ANDREW POTTER

Clerk of the Independent Redistricting Commission County of San Diego, State of California

NOTE: These Minutes set forth all actions taken by the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission on the matters stated, but not necessarily the chronological sequence in which the matters were taken up.

Supporting documentation and attachments for items listed on this agenda can be viewed online at www.sdcounty.ca.gov/redistricting or in the Office of the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors at the County Administration Center, 1600 Pacific Highway, Room 402, San Diego, CA 92101.

Approved by the Commission: