

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO Independent Redistricting Commission

MEETING MINUTES

COMMISSIONERS David Bame, Chair Amy Caterina, Co-Vice Chair Rosette Garcia, Co-Vice Chair Colleen Brown Chris Chen Sonia Diaz Elidia Dostal Barbara Hansen Kenneth Inman Kristina Kruglyak Arvid Larson Fernandez Ponds John Russ Ramesses Surban

SPECIAL MEETING Tuesday, September 6, 2022, 5:30 PM

1. Called to Order at 5:31 p.m. (Virtual meeting)

2. Roll Call

PRESENT: Commissioners David Bame, Amy Caterina, Colleen Brown, Chris Chen, Sonia Diaz, Elidia Dostal, Carmen-Rosette Garcia, Barbara Hansen, Kenneth Inman, Kristina Kruglyak, Arvid Larson, Fernandez Ponds, John Russ, Ramesses Surban; and Andrew Potter, Clerk.

ABSENT: None

(Note for the record: Pursuant to AB 361, signed into law on September 16, 2021 by California Governor Gavin Newsom as urgency legislation, effective immediately, and the May 26, 2022 Resolution of the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission Authorizing Continuance of Teleconferenced Public Meetings Pursuant to Government Code § 54953(e)(1)(C), members of the Independent Redistricting Commission attended the meeting via teleconference and participated in the meeting to the same extent as if they were present.)

3. Discussion and Possible Approval of Resolution Authorizing Continuance of Teleconferenced Public Meetings

ACTION:

ON MOTION of Commissioner Brown, seconded by Commissioner Larson, the Commission approved the "Resolution of the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission Authorizing Hybrid and Fully Remote Teleconferenced Public Meetings Pursuant to Government Code Section 54953," as included with the agenda materials.

AYES: Bame, Brown, Caterina, Chen, Diaz, Dostal, Garcia, Hansen, Inman, Larson, Ponds

NOT PRESENT: Kruglyak, Russ, Surban

ABSENT: None

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES – SEPTEMBER 6, 2022

4. Approval of Minutes from the May 26, 2022 Special Meeting

ACTION:

ON MOTION of Commissioner Chen, seconded by Commissioner Ponds, the Commission approved the minutes from the May 26, 2022 Special Meeting.

AYES: Bame, Brown, Caterina, Chen, Diaz, Dostal, Garcia, Hansen, Inman, Larson, Ponds, Russ

NOT PRESENT: Kruglyak, Surban

ABSENT: None

5. Update on the Budget for Commission Activities

The Commission received the update on the budget for Commission activities as presented in the agenda packet.

6. Discussion and Possible Approval of Extension of Contract for Demographer Services

ACTION:

ON MOTION of Commissioner Diaz, seconded by Commissioner Hansen, the Commission approved an extension of the contract with Maul Foster Alongi (dba as FLO Analytics) for demographer services for one year, through September 30, 2023.

AYES: Bame, Brown, Caterina, Chen, Diaz, Dostal, Garcia, Hansen, Inman, Larson, Ponds, Russ, Surban

NOT PRESENT: Kruglyak

ABSENT: None

7. Recess to Closed Session

The Commission recessed to Closed Session at 5:55 p.m. with the following Commissioners present during Closed Session: Bame, Brown, Caterina, Chen, Diaz, Dostal, Garcia, Hansen, Inman, Kruglyak, Larson, Ponds, Russ, Surban

A. Conference with Legal Counsel – Existing Litigation

(Paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) of Section 54956.9) Chaldean Coalition v. County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission; San Diego Superior Court, Case No. 37-2022-00008447-CU-WM-CTL

8. Reconvene in Open Session

The Clerk of the Commission reported the following actions: There were no reportable actions.

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES – SEPTEMBER 6, 2022

9. Adjournment

There being no further business, the Commission adjourned at 7:46 p.m.

Pursuant to Article III, Section 6 of the *Bylaws and Operating Procedures of the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission*, staff identified that there were no members of the public present during the meeting.

ANDREW POTTER Clerk of the Independent Redistricting Commission County of San Diego, State of California

NOTE: These Minutes set forth all actions taken by the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission on the matters stated, but not necessarily the chronological sequence in which the matters were taken up.

Supporting documentation and attachments for items listed on this agenda can be viewed online at <u>www.sdcounty.ca.gov/redistricting</u> or in the Office of the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors at the County Administration Center, 1600 Pacific Highway, Room 402, San Diego, CA 92101.

Approved by the Commission: November 7, 2022