

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO Independent Redistricting Commission COMMISSIONERS David Bame, Chair Amy Caterina, Co-Vice Chair Rosette Garcia, Co-Vice Chair Colleen Brown Chris Chen Sonia Diaz Elidia Dostal Barbara Hansen Kenneth Inman Kristina Kruglyak Arvid Larson Fernandez Ponds John Russ Ramesse Surban

## **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 13, 2023 Contact: David Bame, Chair, Independent Redistricting Commission redistricting@sdcounty.ca.gov

## COURT REJECTS ATTACK ON SAN DIEGO COUNTY SUPERVISORIAL MAPS

Today, the San Diego Superior Court rejected the Chaldean Coalition's attack on the supervisorial maps the San Diego County Independent Redistricting Commission (IRC) adopted in 2021.

From the beginning of the lawsuit, the Commission felt Petitioner's claims were unfounded and ignored the myriad of factors the IRC balanced in drawing the supervisorial districts. The IRC is gratified the Court agreed and, in the ruling, affirmed the validity of the maps and the integrity of the Commission's mapping process and of each of the Commissioners that participated in it.

As the Court noted, "the IRC commendably performed a difficult and complex task in weighing the multitude of factors that go into establishing a fair redistricting."

###

- Links to San Diego Superior Court Statement of Decision on *Chaldean Coalition v. the County of San Diego Independent Redistricting Commission*:
  - Direct: <u>https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/content/dam/sdc/redistricting/docs/news-articles/Statement%20of%20Decision-Chaldean%20Coalition%20v%20COSD%20IRC.pdf</u>
  - Web page: <u>https://www.sandiegocounty.gov/redistricting.html</u>